Levels of Evaluation

Kirkpatrick’s four levels of learning evaluation have long been the go-to strategy of measuring the quality and results of workplace training programs. The levels are designed to evaluate training programs in a sequence, with each consecutive stage becoming more informative and more valuable to the trainer and employer. The four levels evaluate the following:

  1. Reaction
    Satisfaction levels and what the participants thought and/or felt about the training program
  2. Learning
    A knowledge demonstration or quiz/test to measure a participant’s increase in knowledge, skill and/or change in attitude
  3. Behaviour
    Three to six months following training, observation to measure the transfer of knowledge, skill and/or change in attitude on the job and in the workplace
  4. Results
    Monetary and performance-based measurement of participation in the training program

Instructional designers and training program developers have discussed for years the failure of most training initiatives to move past levels 1 and 2 of the evaluation sequence. Peersite helps to evaluate both behaviour (#3) and the results (#4) through ongoing engagement. While traditional forms of training stop after the employee’s reaction is gauged and knowledge is tested, Peersite keeps employees actively engaged by reaching them on their mobile devices and offering a social network that encourages communication, feedback and participation.